Radio Starmaker Fund

Have Questions? Call 1-888-256-2211 (toll-free)

Radio Starmaker Fund Annual Report

2017 / 2018

Board of Directors


The mandate of the Radio Starmaker Fund is to make a substantial and discernable difference to the careers of Canadian musical recording artists through artist driven marketing assistance, and to support the Canadian independent music infrastructure.

Created by the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission’s Radio Policy Review of 1998, the Radio Starmaker Fund has completed its seventeenth full year of operation.

French language artists are supported by Fonds RadioStar, although Radio Starmaker Fund supports non-French language and instrumental projects originating from Quebec.

For the period from September 1, 2017 to August 31, 2018, the Radio Starmaker Fund Board of Directors was comprised of:

Sylvie Courtemanche
Vice President and Associate General Counsel
Government Relations and Compliance
Corus Entertainment Inc.
Toronto, Ontario
Vice Chair
Shauna De Cartier
Six Shooter Records Inc.
Toronto, Ontario
Julie Penner
CBC Radio Producer and Musician
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Steve Kane
Warner Music Canada
Toronto, Ontario
Taylor Jukes
Senior Manager, National Content
Toronto, Ontario
Nick Blasko
Managing Director
Amelia Artists Inc.
Victoria, British Columbia
Alan Doyle (Artist Representative)
Singer, Songwriter, Producer, Actor
St. John's, Newfoundland

Jake Gold
The Management Trust Ltd.
Toronto, Ontario
Dan Barton
Program Director, Mix 96.5
Newcap Radio Halifax
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Al Ford
National Format Director, JACK/SONIC and
Program Director, 96.9 JACK
Rogers Media Inc.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Executive Director
Chip Sutherland
Vice President, Programs and Applications
Jerry Leibowitz
Manager, Finance and Administration
Michelle Farres